Aplscruf's Music Blog

Diary of a Married Groupie

The One Time I Didn’t Bring My Camera…

[PHOTO NOT AVAILABLE]

The Gourds at the Tractor Tavern, Ballard 07.13.10

The Gourds played one of their breast–I mean–best shows ever at the Tractor, and I did not bring my camera.  Big mistake.  I figured I had enough pics of The Gourds; we’ve seen them at least 5 times in the last few years.  But this time, the audience, including our neighbor who met us at the show, got more of a show than they expected!

We started with a pre-show warm-up by pigging out at Hattie’s Hat next door to the Tractor, using our will-call confirmation for a buy one, get one for half-price meal.  Not a bad deal.  And we were starving by the time we finally found a place to park.  I believe we arrived there around 7:45 or so after circling the block several times.

There were just a few people milling around when we arrived about 8:30.  We went directly to our favorite spot, and placed our drinks on the little table next to the stage.  We were able to sit on the table for a bit while we waited for the band and more people to arrive.  It was going to be another 3 1/2 hour standing marathon, so we were happy to be off our feet even for a few minutes.  We made sure to get lots of water that night, as it was pretty hot already.

Just after 9:00 Shinyribs (a.k.a. Kevin Russell) opened the show with a bang.  He brought out a different bass player and used his drummer from The Gourds.  Shinyribs’ music is a little different, much more of an old timey Southern revival style.  It moved me.  He would break into a rhythm of claps an repetitive whoops and get the audience jumping.  I felt so alive, so fulfilled.  He played some covers of old and new, including Leadbelly’s “We’s All in the Same Boat” and Sam Cooke’s “Change is A-Comin””  and a mandolin version of T Pain’s “Let Me Buy You a Drink”.  He also did a sensual song about the Sweet Potata, his favorite root vegetable, he said.

About two songs into the set, our neighbor S showed up.  He wanted to go with his wife, but they had trouble finding a sitter for their two boys on a Tuesday night; so he went solo.  Our boy was at summer camp, so we were free.  We were glad to have company that night, as none of our friends seem to have the time to GET OUT and see some live music.  S was relieved to finally get to a show.  He used to be a bouncer, so he would see a show every night of the year.  He is very knowledgeable about many genres of music.  I need to pick his brain sometime.  He listed several bands worthy of a night out, so I’ll need to take some notes next time we talk to him.

After a brief intermission, The Gourds came out; and the audience, now a packed house, responded with claps, whoops and cheers.  They played Old Gourds, New Gourds (off their album, Haymaker!) and “Gourds Shit” as Kevin said.  They also did a cover of a Waylon Jennings song and a few others that were either covers or songs I didn’t recognize.  The ones I did recognize were: El Paso/Mr. Betty/Burn the Honeysuckle/You Bought the Last Bottle to name a few.

It was quite an eclectic set, and the audience responded well.  I told P The Gourds are my religion!  I just feel like my soul gets a lift when I watch them play and stomp and gyrate on that small stage, and hear their chants, screams, growls and hollers.  I whoop back and clap along and tap my boot heels.  I never felt that way in church.  So maybe this is where I belong.

So on to that One Person at the show.   As I explained in the Old 97s blog, there is always One Person who stands out in the crowd and either makes for an interesting night or nearly ruins it, depending on the activity of said person.  This night, that One Person was directly to my right (what am I, a One Person magnet??).  P and S were on my left, near the very left corner of the stage.  I was enjoying watching the band and being up close to witness Max, the fiddler/banjo/slide player.  Out of the corner of my right eye, I kept seeing these hands of this very short woman flailing about, turning and twisting to the music.  She would then grab a beer, and continue her flailing, scaring the audience with the  beer sloshing through the air around her.  I tried not to pay too close attention, and just focus on the band.  Her little hands kept moving in my line of sight, so I nudged P and told him, “Look at the lady next to me…she’s a hoot!”  He peeked over me, then with eyes wide, leaned over to S to tell him to take a look.  I wasn’t paying attention after that; I just focused on the band and tapped along to their music.

There was another intermission as the band was deciding on the next song and tuning their instruments.  P and S talked to me about the lady next to me.  Apparently she had pulled her shirt down and was fully flashing  the band while standing next to me!  I didn’t even notice!!  That would explain their strange looks.   P was happy to get to see four real boobs the same night.  Good for him, I thought!  S said she must’ve just got ’em, because she seems so proud of ’em! ha

She then moved to the other side of the stage.  They told me to watch her, as by this time she was fully hammered, so the chances she’d flash again were imminent.  And yes, she did it again!  There was a photographer on that side of the stage who suddenly went from focusing on the band to focusing on her breasts!  We all got a good laugh.

The funniest part came when she finally pulled her shirt back up (it was a very stretchy v-neck), and a skinny young man approached the front of the stage and lifted his yellow T-shirt up and showed off his whole chest and stomach to the band!  Everyone laughed so hard!

The Gourds ended the show a bit earlier than usual, as it was a week night.  Jimmy, the bass player, sang one more encore song, then his strap broke, sending it sliding off to the stage floor.  He picked it up and had to rest it on his thigh to finish the song.  He placed it next to an old Gibson acoustic guitar and the boys gathered for a bow.  While they were scrambling to get lined up for the bow, the bass got tapped and fell into the side of the Gibson, cutting a hole in it!  Ugh! On that note, said Jimmy, they decided to end the show!

We arrived home around 1:00.  I was beat the next day, but dragged in to work a couple hours late.  We saw our neighbor after work that week, and as we were walking down our shared driveway, P pulled his shirt up and greeted him.  Tonight, S did the same thing!  I’m really hoping none of the other neighbors saw that.  They’ll begin to wonder about us…

July 17, 2010 - Posted by | Concert Season 2010, Music, The Gourds, The Tractor Tavern | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

