Aplscruf's Music Blog

Diary of a Married Groupie

David Corley and World Domination – Phase I

When I saw the raves, reviews and pictures come pouring in for David Corley’s live show, first from Italy and now from Ireland, I was so thrilled–so proud of him, and of the people who support him, including his family, his beautiful and artistic love, Kari Auerbach, who also designed the layout and artwork for the album and helped produce his Kickstarter campaign; his sweet and influential publicist Bernadette Quigley; his producer and instrumentalist H. Chris Brown; and the rest of the talented band who worked with him in the studio and on the road.

I first heard of David Corley and his debut album, Available Light, through Paul Kerr’s Blabber ‘n’ Smoke blog [thanks, Paul, my blood brother!]. The whole thing was such a fluke. I hardly ever read other blog posts, mainly due to time constraints. I have a full-time job, write on the side, and spend the rest of my time with my family. So the fact that Paul’s post caught my eye in the first place is some kind of miracle. When I couldn’t stop listening to the album and pouring over the lyrics, I knew I had to buy it immediately. It was instant, musical love. I sent over a quick note to DC via Facebook and promised to write a live review of his show if he ever came to the Northwest (Washington State). Bernadette then contacted me and requested I conduct an interview via email with David. How could I turn her down? I’d never conducted an interview before except for a mock interview I did with a local musician that was more of a joke than a true, thought-provoking q & a. [I don’t think I told you that, BQ! Ha!] Anyway, the questions streamed in within minutes. Within a few days, I had a short review and questions honed down and ready for him, and emailed over to BQ. It seemed magical to me, how it all fell into place. A few days later, David had answers–insightful, interesting answers, which gave us a little peek through the window of his world. I joked with him, asking him what’s next, World Domination?  Well, apparently so. It would just take a few more months.

I posted his official video and the interview on No Depression, but I didn’t feel it received the attention it deserved. Although both eventually received hundreds of views on that site, I was just waiting for someone else–maybe someone from the general public–to rave about the beauty in his lyrics and in that deep voice. He hadn’t toured at that point, so all publicity was through album reviews on various music blogs around the world–which is fantastic, don’t get me wrong. But I felt insulated, up here in the corner, in Washington State, away from the action, just waiting. But the album reviews kept streaming in, and Bernadette, always looking out for her artists, was working her magic behind the scenes, posting them on FB and Twitter. Kari worked on his website and helped David “plot and scheme” and get the word out about upcoming tours and events. This gave me hope that people–the listeners, music lovers, and audience members, would eventually sit up and take notice and go see him, once he started touring.

Meanwhile, I developed this musical friendship, not only with David, but with Kari. She shared a piece of her precious soul with me as we quickly became FB pen pals. And beautiful Bernadette, with her x’s and o’s, continued to reach out to me with words of encouragement regarding my blog posts, gave me updates and introduced me to other artists, too.

Reading the raves and the love being poured out on DC and the band in Italy and Ireland made my heart swell. I’m just so happy that others like me, the ones down in the shadows, in the audience, share my passion and see the magic and soul behind his music. Seeing him live, in person, meeting David, Kari, and the rest of the band must have been such a wonderful treat. And to sit back and watch as people’s mouths dropped open as they listened to their favorite new album coming to life in front of them, or maybe hearing him for the first time–I would have loved that so much. I envy all of you who have already witnessed this, but it validates my original love for his music and its effects on the soul. I can only hope he receives this kind of love here in The States someday. I’ll do my best to spread the Word.

And now, being a part of the Rollercoaster Records gang in Kilkenny, I feel like I’ve gained a new little family on the other side of the world, one that understands the value of great music and supports those musicians who rock our world like no other. Thanks all, and for Willie and co., for organizing the show. I only wish I could have joined you and shared a pint.

I wish you the best as you continue on this journey together.

Much Love,
Aplscruf  – a.k.a., Lisa Knight
August 31, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Reblogged this on QuigleyMedia and commented:
    wow. blown away by all of these lovely and loving thoughts about “Team Corley”…

    Comment by bernadettetheconstantgardener | August 31, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you, Bernadette, for your never-ending enthusiasm, energy and persistence to spread the news about these talented artists!

      Comment by aplscruf | August 31, 2015 | Reply

  2. Great post, L! I can see why you are so taken by the music. Wow.

    Comment by Fannie Cranium | August 31, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you, T! One fan at a time…

      Comment by aplscruf | August 31, 2015 | Reply

  3. A great post and thanks so much for mentioning Blabber’n’Smoke. Like you I was bowled over by the album and it was only particular circumstances which stopped me from seeing David in Ireland. I haven’t as yet made it to Rollercoaster Records but thoroughly intend to pay them a visit (and maybe even buy a record).

    Comment by Paul Kerr | August 31, 2015 | Reply

    • Ha-ha! Thanks, Paul. I’m also sorry to hear you didn’t make it over, but if you do sometime, I’m sure that will be worth a post all its own!

      Comment by aplscruf | August 31, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

