Aplscruf's Music Blog

Diary of a Married Groupie

Jeff Finlin’s New Video – “I Killed Myself Last Night” Posted on No Depression

1656396

My musical family tree is showing signs of an early spring. New blossoms formed this week. I met two new friends–both have been around for years, but we finally connected. One friend will be featured in a separate post and video, once tour dates are announced. The other, as it turns out, was someone who, all things considered, I should have met a decade ago. Jeff Finlin is his name. We have several mutual friends in the music world. He’s also collaborated with Will Kimbrough and spent many moons in the Nashville scene before settling in Colorado.

His current album, My Moby Dick was released in 2013. “I Killed Myself Last Night” from the album, was just released as a video. The song has a powerful message of spiritual awakening. I just posted it on No Depression. Here is the link:  http://nodepression.com/video/jeff-finlin-i-killed-myself-last-night

Here is the video:

As I explore Finlin’s music, I wonder why I didn’t find him sooner. My music purchases are sporadic, though. I think I missed a whole decade at one point. Life gets in the way. Distractions galore. I heard him for the first time singing “Sugar Blue” in his distinct, drawn-out vocals, a favorite song featured on Cameron Crowe’s Elizabethtown 2002 soundtrack. But since then, I hadn’t ordered his albums. After he contacted me regarding posting the video, I hopped online and purchased My Moby Dick and an accompanying book of prose called Time Less Travel. I like the play on words.

He is also working on a retrospective album that will be released through a European label and another new album entitled The Guru in The Girl  to be released later in the year. Check his website for more details and updates.

Join him on his UK tour in February. Show dates here: http://jefffinlin.com/shows

1656383

 

 

 

 

 

 

January 30, 2016 - Posted by | 2016, Jeff Finlin, No Depression, Uncategorized | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

